LiveFit Challenge Week 16: Tim’s Update

Is it possible for someone to be disappointed when the sun is shining, birds are singing, grass is turning green, and the possibility of 80 degree weather is in the forecast? It is if you were planning on getting in a good bike workout only to have other commitments get in your way.

Tim Richards is an OR surgical technician at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

Tim Richards is an OR surgical technician at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

WAIT!! Did I just say I was disappointed about missing a workout? What’s happening to me? In all seriousness though I am. We have all been cooped up for too long. I really do not mind working out inside but the true test of how all this hard work will pay off comes from getting outside. Now I am looking at rain for the next four days. I guess I am going to have to just bite the bullet and get out on the road.

You see I have a 20 mile section of the Paper Discovery Duathlon coming up and I am nervous about how I will do. I get to team up with Amanda, one of my fellow six pack members, and I am not letting her down. In case you haven’t guessed, I am doing the biking portion of this event. This is kind of like a warm up to the main event in June when we each compete in the Green Bay Triathlon.

Since I have not ever competed in any distance running or biking before, this brings a lot of excitement and nervousness. Will I start out too fast? What if I cramp up, or get a flat? And of course, knock on wood, what if I crash? I, for one, am not a big fan of road rash. It just doesn’t sound like a good way to spend a Sunday afternoon. In all honesty though I know I will push myself but in a smart way. I will be fine with the distance and since the bike I am using was borrowed and I do not have that much actual time on it, I will not be taking any unnecessary chances. I have worked too hard and come too far to get hurt now and not be able to compete in June. I only have one question to ask though.

Why would you schedule this on opening weekend of fishing season? Oh well, I think the bass will have to wait another week.

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Tim Richards and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

