LIveFit Challenge Week 18: Sara’s Update

I’m finishing off the last of the run.   I can hardly feel my legs.   I’m sweating and panting and my heart rate is racing.  I hurry into the parking garage as fast as my wobbly legs can take me to find my bike, but I discover that I came in on the wrong level! Everyone else is getting started biking and I can’t manage to even find mine in the rows of cars! I wander so far into the parking garage that I can’t see the other competitors any longer.  I’m going up and down in the elevator, frustrated that my transition time is now up to 15 minutes!

Ha! Then I wake up!

Dr. Sara Aicher is an urgent care physician at Aurora Urgent Care in Green Bay.

Dr. Sara Aicher is an urgent care physician at Aurora Urgent Care in Green Bay.

And that was what I was dreaming about before the duathlon! I could not imagine how the transitions would work, and so my subconscious came up with the idea that they were going to hide my bike in the parking garage.  Very weird.

Anyway, the duathlon was really a lot of fun! I would love to do it again.  I would even do the whole thing! Two miles running, 18 miles biking, and then two more miles of running.  It was just so incredible to be surrounded by all these people that were so enthusiastic at 6 AM!

Being around people who are energetic makes me feel more energetic.  And I can honestly see why these races are addictive.  I felt invigorated by the whole experience! It was nice to feel the cool, fresh air during the ride, see the people lining the streets cheering us on, and hear our coaches and teammates congratulate us as we were finishing! The yummy French toast at the end was a nice bonus, too!

A few things didn’t go so well, though.   I was passed by several pretty intense cyclists, one who yelled at me and someone else to “stay inside!”…oops, shouldn’t have gone around that pot hole.  I didn’t mind them passing me too much, especially if they had super fancy bikes.  I just chalked it up to their bike being faster, and if I had their bike, I would be way ahead of them.

So, then, to get a little extra pep, I decided to try to juice myself up with some Hammer Gel.  well, I almost fell off my bike reaching to my back pocket for it.  And then, I couldn’t squeeze it out all at once, so I took one hit and managed to shove it back into the pocket only to have it seep out all over the back of my shirt.  Newbie move.  Oh well.

I also couldn’t get my cadence monitor to work and my nose was running all over the place.  So my shirt was covered in that and hammer gel by the end.

All in all, it was great to experience this race before the triathlon.  I will feel much more comfortable with the transition set up, for one, and also just have a better feel for race day preparation.  Only two and a half more weeks to go!!!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Sara Aicher, MD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

