LiveFit Challenge Week 18: Ed’s Update

It has been a week since we did the Duathlon in Neenah.  Since then, I have been getting some jitters and nervousness about the upcoming triathlon.  I believe that I will be able to do it but there is always that little doubt.  I want to be able to perform well and have a good PR at the finish line.

Participating in the duathlon helped to give me a clear mental picture of what it will be like at the triathlon. Since participating in the duathlon when I work out I always have that vision of that event in my head the entire time. This might be a good thing…I think.

The weather has gotten warmer and I moved all of my training (other than swimming) out doors.  I prefer to be outside instead of inside.  I did some running on the new path that was built last fall just outside the Ortho building.  When it comes to swimming portion of the triathlon I may be in trouble.  I just can’t breath through water, that is what it feels like to me.  I did do some extra training on my own and at times I think that I am getting better but that only last for a short time then my old habits come back.

Ed Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

Ed Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

Thursday was a very interesting work out.  When I got to the SportCenter I was greeted with, “we are going outside for a bike ride.”  I thought, “yea sure”.  Guess what.  We did.  It was cold and raining.  The entire class gathered up and everyone got ready to head it outside.

I was thinking how am I going to explain this to my family that I didn’t know enough to stay out of the rain like normal people do. But we all trekked outside in the rain and mounted our bikes and took on the elements.  Once we got under way it wasn’t all that bad.  Actually, I kind of enjoyed it and we only saw 1 other person nutty enough to be out on a bike like us in the cold rain.  I like to take on new challenges and this definitely was one.  I am hoping for nice weather on the day of the triathlon but if it isn’t we now will have some experience with inclement weather.

Nothing is guaranteed. Three weeks to go to triathlon day.

This entry was posted in Ed Janz and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

