LiveFit Challenge Week 17: Jaci’s Update

The 2013 Neenah Duathlon is off my bucket list!

On Sunday May 5th, the Aurora 6-Pack completed the Neenah Paper Discovery Duathlon!     This was an awesome experience for me.  As I driving down and was getting closer to Riverside Park the butterflies in the stomach and nerves started to kick in.  As I arrived, I found my teammates and we set up the transition area with the bikes and our gear. Junius gave us some personal goals and mine were if I have to walk make it a short walk but mostly running for the first 2 miles and the second 2 miles run it all.

Jaci Rocheleau is a patient financial services processor in Green Bay, Wisconsin.

Jaci Rocheleau is a patient financial services processor in Green Bay, Wisconsin.

We were all in Wave 2 and standing waiting for our wave to be called up, it really hit home for me and I was ready to put my training in force.  When I saw the 1 mile marker, I thought, oh really, that wasn’t bad! This is great, I’m still running, didn’t need or want to walk, I know that I can make it through to the end of the 2nd mile.

As I got closer to the transition area the team was yelling my name and words of encouragement.  I giggled to myself because I’m always the one cheering someone else on and now someone is cheering me on.  The hand off of the ankle chip went smoothly and off Sara went for the 18 mile bike ride.  I made sure that I started warm and the muscles were still loose.

As I Sara coming back to the transition area, I was ready to take back the ankle chip and I was off running the 2nd round of two miles.  I was just about to the 1 mile marker and Ed caught up with me.  I kept in pace with him for a good stretch, but I didn’t want to hold him back.  I loved seeing the finish line and kick it up a notch or two to finish strong.  Holy smokes I did it, I ran all 4 miles!  My team did it!  Bring on the Triathlon!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Jaci Rocheleau and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

