LiveFit Challenge Week 17: Ed’s Update

We had a very busy week in preparing for the triathlon. On Tuesday night, we had a mini triathlon for our class.  We started out in the pool at the ‘Y’ and then went up to the deck and rode the spin bikes and finally went outside to run.  I found that the swimming was the hardest for me.  We were supposed to swim for 10 minutes nonstop.

Edwin Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

Edwin Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

A short time into the swim, I was having trouble catching my breath and breathing.  I believe I may have uncovered a medical problem so I will try a few things to work around it or I may have found out just how bad of a swimmer I really am. The rest of the mini triathlon went well.  It was a very helpful run through for the real thing.  I have never done a triathlon so just seeing how it all comes together was very educational.

Thursday night we had a presentation on everything you needed to know about bicycles.  We learned the correct way to change a flat tire by actually changing out our own bike tires.  I enjoyed this part because it went quit well.  We learned a lot about bike maintenance and how to make minor adjustments when needed.  This was a very informative class.

What can I say about Sunday.  The six-pack team participated in the Paper Discovery Duathlon held in Neenah.  It was a great experience.  We participated as a 2 member relay team.  I did the running part while my partner Tracie did the biking.  A duathlon is a run – bike – run event.  WOW!  It was neat to see how things were set up so I kind of know what to expect on our triathlon day.  Boy, some of these participants are real serious.  You don’t want to get in their way.  I think our teams did well and really appreciate the experience.  I had fun and enjoyed the camaraderie.  Now I think I am starting to get nervous about the triathlon.  I will not have a partner and will go it alone.

Will I be ready and will I finish it???  Those are my questions for now.

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Ed Janz and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

