LiveFit Challenge Week 15: Sara’s Update

I’ll be honest.  I had no idea that there was so much to biking — or what the cool riders call “cycling.”

Last week, we had someone come and talk to us about all the parts of the bike.  I never had a clue that all those thingies had names!  And then, we talked about bike fitting tonight.

Dr. Sara Aicher is an urgent care physician at Aurora Urgent Care in Green Bay.

Dr. Sara Aicher is an urgent care physician at Aurora Urgent Care in Green Bay.

Again, I guess I just never gave it much thought before, on my little joyrides with the kids to get ice cream.  But, it is kind of interesting how all the different angles, if set and fitted correctly, help to improve your performance and relieve stress on joints.

So, the other day I went to the bike shop to get some bike shorts and had to decide whether my bottom was really worth $200 worth of cushioning.  I opted for $50 of cushioning.  Hopefully, I don’t regret that.  There is also something called Hoo Ha Cream! Yes, that is the real name! There are bike helmets that cost $20-$300+, bike gloves, bike computers, cycling shoes, cycling socks, cycling glasses.  This was never the type of shopping that I did in the past, but I could get into it.  I got a pretty helmet and a handy little bike bag to keep some tools and lip gloss in.

I also got a special cadence monitor.  It’s supposed to be easy to install…no wires, just a bluetooth connection to my iPhone.  Well, step one was manageable: attach the bluetooth unit, check.  Step two was remove the pedal and slide the magnet onto the crank arm.  Okay, luckily I now at least know what the crank arm is, but they forgot to mention how the heck I was supposed to remove the pedal!!! Ergh!!! So, after reviewing several YouTube videos, I realized that the hundred different wrenches I had were not going to get the job done.  I guess I’ll be bringing it into the store to install it.

I just found out tonight that I will be doing the cycling portion of the duathlon on May 5, teamed up with Jaci doing the running! So, now I really need to get serious about this cycling training! Not that I wasn’t already.  But, this is only two weeks away! Maybe instead of spending 45 minutes trying to get my pedal off, I should have just been riding the bike!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Sara Aicher, MD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

