LiveFit Challenge Week 14: Amanda’s Update

I had my fitness assessment last week. While I didn’t find out that I was a size 2 with unstoppable stamina, I did find out that I made more improvements that I thought!

I’ve felt like I have more energy. So, all this hard work is REALLY doing something. It’s a very motivating feeling. My personal goal is that by my next fitness assessment I can lose 2 percent body fat, increase my overall endurance and lose about 8 lbs. I don’t know if it’ll work, but if I try to set smaller attainable goals along my journey I think it will keep me motivated and will encourage me when I reach them.

Amanda Schuessler is a patient services representative at BayCare Clinic in Green Bay.

Amanda Schuessler is a patient services representative at BayCare Clinic in Green Bay.

Training has been going well. I am really enjoying the triathlon classes more that I thought I would. We are working with several different trainers which is such a great benefit, all of the trainers are great but sometimes on trainer may word things a bit different from another, and in way that just clicks.

I really struggle with proper breathing technique.  It was bit discouraging too. While I’m no Olympic swimmer, I’ve been in the water since I can remember swimming in the ocean, lakes, canals and pools.

After a bit with the Navy I can even turn my pants into a flotation device to survive in the water for days and save someone else too, but I can’t breathe!  AHHH….then Jacki says I think you’ll get the breathing down if you slow down.  You seem so rushed you don’t have enough time to take a breath…..The light bulb has gone off, folks.  I got it.

While my stroke is still not as graceful as I’d like, I got it.  I’ve been so mind set on the idea of training for a race that slowing down wasn’t something I had considered.  Thanks Jacki!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Amanda Schuessler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

