LiveFit Challenge Week 13: Tim’s Update

So, a new twist was put in place for us this past Saturday in New Franken. It is called the CompuTrainer and it was quite a challenge.

Tim Richards is an OR surgical technician at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

Tim Richards is an OR surgical technician at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

I was pretty sore after the ride was over and we only went 12 miles. To be honest, it felt more like a hundred once it was over. I brought the bike that I will be riding in the triathlon and had just had it fitted to me. So, I was feeling confident that I would be able to handle this. After all, it was only inside watching a projection on the wall and peddling away. I was not expecting the workout that we got though.

Did mention that I was sore afterwards?

The projection tells you where you are on the course and lets you know if you are going to start a climb or if you are going downhill, or just flat. I swear I was climbing most of the time.

You can also see where others are in your group as it can take p to 8 people at a time. I started out as a friendly competition and for me turned into a need just to survive. I have ridden this distance before but really seemed to struggle on this.

At about the halfway point my legs were begging for mercy and my behind felt like I was sitting on a bag or doorknobs. At one point Corey asked how I was doing and all I could muster to say was ” This sucks”. I was in the middle of a long climb and at the time that is just how I felt.

Overall it gave me a good idea of how I should ride and how I should pace myself better. I think one of the reasons that I was not having very good time was I started out too fast.

Never try to keep pace with someone who has been training for a year longer than you. IT WILL NOT WORK. Especially if you are a first timer. I think I could do better on it another time. I would however make the last portion of it downhill not up and I would prefer to pick the music next time.

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Tim Richards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

