LiveFit Challenge Week 14: Sara’s Update

This weather is definitely not motivating me to get outside and run or bike! Yuck! When the heck is it going to become more like spring?

Dr. Sara Aicher is an urgent care physician at Aurora Urgent Care in Green Bay.

Dr. Sara Aicher is an urgent care physician at Aurora Urgent Care in Green Bay.

Well, I have to say, I am actually a little afraid to make the transition to covering real distances outdoors. Why do people say that it is more enjoyable to run or bike outside?

I have been doing fine with blasting music or watching an episode of Dancing with the Stars while I am running on the treadmill or rocking the bike trainer.

People say it is more stimulating to be outside.  I’m sorry, but the scenery around Green Bay does not thrill me right now!  Especially with all the ugly dirt covered snow piles around and soggy grass.  Maybe if we lived in San Diego or Vancouver, I could enjoy the scenery in April.  At least our recent weather is giving me a good excuse to stay indoors for now.

Our indoor cycling challenge was quite fun last Saturday.  Okay, maybe just finishing was the fun part.  No, to be quite honest, it was pretty neat.

All of our bikes were hooked up to a program that somehow simulated a race course and the feeling of climbing up hills.  I don’t think I ever really felt it accurately simulate the downhill or flat parts.  It felt like the whole ride was uphill! Anyway, each of us were represented on a screen in front of us so we could see how fast we were going and where we were in the course.

I realized how competitive I am when I was completely fixated on closing the distance between me and the person in front of me! I wonder if I will feel that way on race day.  Better watch out, Tim! So far, all I’ve been thinking is that I just want to finish.  I just want to prove to myself that I can do it.

Unfortunately, I did pretty much feel like I was going to die if I had to pedal any faster on the last killer uphill part of the course.  Corey and Junius were pushing me to finish the course in under an hour.  For the last few minutes, I felt like my legs were completely on fire and I was having to push the pedals through wet cement.  I wanted to stop or slow down and give them a rest!

As I was seeing the time get closer and closer to 60 minutes and they were telling me to go faster, I didn’t know how the heck I was going to do it.  I knew I would be so disappointed in myself if I didn’t give it my best effort.  It was like some lazy side of me was saying “just take a break” and the competitive side was yelling “work harder!!”.  I somehow pushed through it and finished at 59:56! Three and a half seconds to spare! Whew!

Umm..do I remember correctly that I am going to have to run a 5K after finishing biking 15 miles in this triathlon? Yikes!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Sara Aicher, MD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

