LiveFit Challenge Week 13: Ed’s Update

Tuesday we went to the Y and worked on our swimming.  I think I am getting the hang of it.  I was surprised by the amount of laps we swam.  I have two months left to perfect my technique.  I will never be a great swimmer. I just hope to be able to swim good enough to complete the Triathlon.

Edwin Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

Edwin Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

On Saturday the group went to Trikes to Bikes and More located in New Franken.  We spent some time with the owner going over the various bikes and the terminology associated with bikes.

We learned what to look for when purchasing a bike and just what technology is out there.  Normally, this isn’t something one would think about on a regular basis.

We did go in the back room where there is a screen and stations to hook a bike up to and pretend you are out for a ride on your bike.

I didn’t do well here.  I had thought I was in better shape but my confidence is shaken by my poor performance.  Although, I don’t think it was all me.  The first 4 miles or so the tension on my rear wheel was so tight that it didn’t seem to matter what gear I was in, it all seemed very hard.  Finally, the tension was adjusted and I could shift normal again, but I was already spent from trying to keep up with the rest of the group and so I just gave up at the end.  My rear tire kept rubbing on the side of the stand.  If I want to do well during the triathlon, I will have to do a lot of riding on my own and/or get a different bike.

I did take an 8 mile ride outside the other day and it all went well so I was somewhat surprised by my performance on Saturday.  Who knew that peddling inside would be so much different than going for an actual bike ride?  We will see what I have to do to make the necessary adjustments.  It is time to rethink my strategy.

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Ed Janz and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

