LiveFit Challenge Week 12: Ed’s Update

We are now half-way through the training for the June 2 triathlon!

I originally thought that I would be further along by now.  I believe that I am making headway but I need to work harder.  Now, that’s not to say that I haven’t been working hard so far.  We have spent a lot of time building our core muscles.  I see how important this is as we get into our triathlon training classes.  I still need to work on those core muscles.  I think originally I was expecting more from me than I could give. 

Ed Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

Ed Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

As we go through this triathlon training, I have been most surprised by how out of shape I was and still am.  I always thought that I was a little out of shape but as I got into the training I soon found out just how out of shape I was.  I could never hold a candle to the personal trainers at the Ortho Sports building.

I feel every workout…all over. This is how I know that I am out of shape.  I have always believed that I was in fairly good shape; after all I did run for years.

One thing that I learned was that the training I am doing now is more of a complete body workout and core strengthening than anything I have ever done.  My focus for years was just on running.  Now I am focusing on a more complete body routine.

The training that we are going through encompasses 3 disciplines; swimming, biking and running.  I have run for many years and this is not a concern of mine because I can run 4 miles now.  Biking is also not a huge concern for me.  I have always road bike during the summer months for recreation.  On Friday I went for my first outside bike ride to test my equipment and did an easy 8 mile ride.  I don’t think 15 miles will be a problem for me.

Swimming by far is my worst event.  I could swim since I was a teenager but I never took a swimming class so the only swimming I know was whatever kept me above water.  I didn’t realize how much coordination is needed when you swim.  Also, I didn’t realize just how much energy you can burn swimming.  Swimming is a total body workout. This is where I need to spend more time on!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Ed Janz and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

