LiveFit Challenge Week 13: Sara’s Update

I thought, at this point in our training, that swimming was going to feel like the hardest of the three.  But I actually found swimming kind of relaxing the last two weeks! I can’t believe I’m saying that!

Dr. Sara Aicher is an urgent care physician at Aurora Urgent Care in Green Bay.

Dr. Sara Aicher is an urgent care physician at Aurora Urgent Care in Green Bay.

Until now, there was absolutely nothing relaxing about swimming.  From putting on my bathing suit in the locker room and trying to avoid seeing my reflection, to climbing into the freezing cold water, to swimming a half length of the pool blowing water out of my nose and gasping for air!

Yeah, it wasn’t my favorite.  So, imagine me in the pool and actually volunteering to swim extra laps!

As the swimming got better, the running got worse! I’m hoping it was just circumstantial.

Here’s what happened in the past week:

  • I decided I was going to get up early every morning and exercise, and start running with my yellow lab.  Did I really think that was going to work? Getting up early worked.  Taking the dog was the challenge.  First, one of the neighbors was out getting his paper with his Golden Retriever as we trotted in their direction.  The dog decided to come make friends with Molly.  After that, Molly was so excited about her new friend, she couldn’t focus on running.  She wanted to pee everywhere to let all the other dogs know she was finally getting out around the block again.  
  • I thought I had a playlist going, but I only had one Bruno Mars song playing over and over and over.  I ended up just going straight home and decided I was going to run on the treadmill instead.  I guess outdoor running will have to be planned a little better next time.  And maybe I’ll just do the warm up with Molly next time. 

Maybe running outside — without all the distractions — will be as relaxing as swimming has become!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Sara Aicher, MD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

