LiveFit Challenge 60-Day Recap: Ed Janz

My sessions with a personal trainer have come to an end!  This time comes with mixed emotions. 

Ed Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

Ed Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

On one hand, I am saddened that I will no longer have the personal attention and encouragement working with personal trainers. On the other hand, I am pleased with how much I have changed over the past 2 months.  I am also excited about being able to set my own routine using the knowledge that I have gained. 

The past 2 months were not easy by any stretch of the imagination.  I have now developed a positive attitude and changed my life style for a much healthier me.  I have tightened up my core muscles and dropped some weight.  I now watch what and how much I eat.  I try to make good choices. 

I now try to stay active by incorporating numerous activities that get me off the couch.  Some activities are as simple as taking a walk in the mall to the more complex snowshoeing on the Fox River Trail.  As weather permits more outside activities will be added to my routines.  The Sports Medicine Center offers many different classes and activities which I will be utilizing more now that my personal training sessions are over. I have learned that The Sports Medicine Center and staff are true gems.  What a privilege it has been to be part of this group.

In the past, nutrition is something that I never did pay much attention to.  During the last 2 months, I have been journaling what I eat.  This process is very revealing and very beneficial to me in changing my eating habits.  I now pay attention to what I eat and how much I eat.  I found what really worked for me was downsizing my portions.  I don’t forbid myself much food but for the most part I just eat smaller portions.  There are some things that I try never to touch like sweet rolls and most deserts.  I guess I try to stay away from what I call wasted calories.

The journaling process has made me more aware that I need to include more vegetables and fruits in my diet.  This was one big change I have made in my eating habits.  I never feel like I am on a diet.  I try to make better choices on what I select and I am conscience to how many calories I have consumed and/or how much room I have in order to stay under my top limit.  I don’t cook unless you consider microwaving cooking so I don’t mess with exchanging ingredients with healthier ones.  I do try to stay away from processed foods.

I am pleased with the results over the past 2 months but I do realize that I still have much room for improvements.  I will still continue on this healthier path even though that part of the program is done.

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

 

This entry was posted in Ed Janz and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

