What lessons can you learn on the sidelines?

Max Boettner is a licensed athletic trainer for the Aurora Sports Medicine Institute.

Max Boettner is a licensed athletic trainer for the Aurora Sports Medicine Institute.

Last October, Max was watching friends finish a marathon and thought to myself, “I can do that!”  

He’s set two new goals for himself this year: launching an 18-week marathon training, and blogging all the way to the finish line.  Here’s his latest installment:

After spending some time on the sideline with an injury, I am finally back to running!

I have not been able to run in about 5 weeks and I am really excited about getting back out there. Since I was unable to run, I tried to work out on the stationary bike as much as possible. Unfortunately, I got bored very quickly and did not do as much as I should have.

I have also tried to continue lifting weights even while I was injured. Now that I am fully healthy, I will try to alternate 1-2 days of cross training with a stationary bike or elliptical to keep some stress off of my legs.

I have also decided it is really time to dedicate myself to eating healthier. Anybody that knows me knows that I hate cooking; I would rather go to Subway of Jimmy Johns.

Unfortunately, in order to eat healthier, I must start cooking for myself. I will try to spend a good part of this week looking up simple, healthy recipes. If any of you know any, please send them to me!

In other news, I have officially signed up for the Milwaukee Lakefront Marathon! The race is on Sunday, October 6.

Don’t give up the sport — give up the pain! Visit the Aurora Sports Medicine Institute at 13 Wisconsin locations, visit our website, follow us on Facebook, browse our YouTube channel, or call our hotline at 1-800-219-7776.

About Max Boettner

A licensed athletic trainer, Max Boettner looks forward to the challenges of working with athletes of all ages and abilities. He graduated from the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee with a Bachelor of Science degree in athletic training; his experience includes a football internship at Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, and seasonal athletic training coverage for the Milwaukee Mustangs Arena Football League Team , and coverage for various UW-Milwaukee Athletics. From injury prevention and rehabilitation to athletic performance, Max is an athlete’s best friend because he understands the drive to “stay in the game”. Originally from Waunakee, he now calls Milwaukee his home. When not working in the clinic or with athletes at Whitefish Bay High School, Max enjoys participating in sports, especially golf and football.
This entry was posted in Marathon Training with Max and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

