LiveFit Challenge 60-Day Recap: Tim Richards

What lessons have you learned in your first 60 days?

How can you describe what I have been going through over the last couple of months? All I can say is WOW. I have never been this excited about exercise before.

Diet

I have had a love affair with food for as long as I can remember. I have never been the type of person that ate for any emotional reason, I just love food. Truthfully it is not so much what I eat but how much I eat that has been the problem.

Tim Richards is an OR surgical technician at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

Tim Richards is an OR surgical technician at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

These past two months taught me that you can still eat things you like, but you need to learn moderation. While I do enjoy the occasional greasy, fried food or something sweet I have learned to control myself.

Now, when I get the urge to eat, I grab a piece of fruit or a handful of nuts instead of potato chips or a candy bar. I still like to have sweet things but now I will make that chocolate bar last a couple of days as a small treat instead of just downing it. I used to drink one or two sodas in a day where as now I will drink up to 8 glasses of water. It is really a mindset that I have put myself into and I can say that I do not miss the old eating habits of past.

My wife and I have enjoyed finding new healthy recipes to try and spend more time together preparing them. We jokingly refer to each recipe as a “repeat or delete.” So far the repeats have out numbered the deletes. I have found out that eating healthy does not have to break the bank either. You can spend the same amount on eating healthy if you just put in a little time and effort.

Exercise

All aspects of this adventure have been eye opening. The first initial assessment was humbling to say the least. I always thought I was in fairly decent shape then I saw the numbers. My weight, body mass index, and body fat percentage were all higher than they had ever been. I  know it is not all about that but it was still a shock. Even looking at the picture of myself from the day Nick told me I had been chosen makes me shake my head wondering how I let myself go.  I have learned so much about fitness and nutrition that I know I can continue this habit for a long time. I see the difference in how my clothes fit and I have people telling me how good I look and it all makes me push on. I have been an up and down exerciser all my life and I believe that I have changed.

The team has been great to get to know and I can see the competitiveness in all of us. We really feed off of one another, push one another, and are really there for one another. I look forward to the next twelve weeks of training with my fellow six-packers and can not wait for the race to get here. Every day that passes and, we get closer to June, I feel the energy building wanting to go.

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Tim Richards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

