LiveFit Challenge Week 10: Sara’s Update

Wow!

Using that BodyMedia device was eye opening! Holy cow! How much chocolate had I been eating? A LOT more than I ever thought!

Dr. Sara Aicher is an urgent care physician at Aurora Urgent Care in Green Bay.

Dr. Sara Aicher is an urgent care physician at Aurora Urgent Care in Green Bay.

Once I started using it and having to log whatever I ate, I didn’t eat chocolate… well, hardly any chocolate! Every time I was in my office or walked by my pantry at home and was tempted to grab one little candy bar or Hershey’s kiss, I thought to myself “do you really want to log that?”, and then I would pass it up.

If I had worked out a decent amount that day and really, really wanted it, I would have it.  But, then again, if I had worked out a lot, I didn’t really just want to waste calories on a piece of chocolate sometimes.  So, here’s a negative…I was eating too much chocolate.   And the positive is, I have learned that I don’t really need chocolate as much as I did before.  Now I like snacking on sugar snap peas and carrots and cucumbers! Yeah, seriously!

And that would be my next new positive habit! Eating vegetables! I even got my kids to eat more vegetables! My husband? Not so much.  We tried.  He’s not into it.  When he sees how amazingly healthy I become, maybe he will change his mind.  Maybe I’ll start using that “Deceptively Delicious” cookbook I bought a few years ago and hide the veggies in things.  Which leads me to my next negative…

I don’t cook enough.  It is probably way way easier to eat healthy when you make things yourself.  I wouldn’t have to Google my take out meals for calorie count or scan the Panera menu calorie listings then.  I just have not really gotten into cooking.  I’m trying harder lately, though!

Oh, one more negative that I’ve been working on: my fluid intake! I used to drink two cups of coffee and maybe one glass of water a day! That used to be it! I’ve been trying to chug water and G2 Gatorade now, though.  I think I actually feel a difference.  I just have to make sure I don’t wet my pants when I get busy at work and forget to make time to run to the bathroom! Eeek!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Sara Aicher, MD. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

