LiveFit Challenge Week 7: Ed’s Update

A tough week… mentally and physically

This has been a week of highs and lows for me.  On Saturday I participated in the Heart-a-thon held at the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Center.  I had heard that there were 60 people who signed up to participate.  I couldn’t help but notice that I was 1 of only 4 men that participated.  The male gender was very poorly represented.

Edwin Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

Edwin Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

My hat is off to the female gender for their overwhelming representation.  Ok guys, what happened to you?  We all need to maintain a healthy heart.

It was an awesome program.  The trainers that lead each segment took me to my limits.  I was able to hook up with Jaci and Tracey, two other 6-Pack team members, so we could be in the same group as we went through the morning exercises.  If you didn’t attend, you missed a great workout with some really neat people.

I had to miss a training session because I had to attend a funeral of an old friend.  This took the wind out of my sails for a while.  My friend was my age and it brings home the fact that we are all mortal and we all have a date with death.  I struggled all week with working out because I couldn’t stay focused.   My friend was always on my mind.  I just didn’t have the motivation to put in a good workout, but as the week continued I started to get back into my regimen.

As Friday arrived, I still was feeling some effects from the Heart-a-thon.  I ran my miles in the morning and in the afternoon I went snowshoeing on the Fox River Trail.  There was a lot of snow and it was lightly snowing all afternoon.  The sites were just fantastic, we saw an eagle, a cardinal and a hawk.  We sure do live in God’s country here in Wisconsin.  Snowshoeing is a great winter outdoor activity.

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Ed Janz and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

