LiveFit Challenge Week 8: Jaci’s Update

I started a minor setback in my lower back on Wednesday evening.

Jaci Rocheleau is a patient financial services processor in Green Bay, Wisconsin.

Jaci Rocheleau is a patient financial services processor in Green Bay, Wisconsin.

I started having a low back ache about four weeks ago, but that soon turned into a stabbing and tear-flowing pain on Thursday morning. I went over to the sports center and met with Jon and Corey to determine what was causing the pain and what I needed to do for treatment.

The pain was located in the SI joints and I either needed physical therapy or chiropractic care. I opted for chiropractic care and was able to start treatment on Friday morning. After an x-ray it was determined that not only the SI joints, hut there was also an issue but also the L5 region.

The issue in the L5 region has been determined by the radiologist as chronic and has been there for a long time.  All the exercise inflamed it. The next 2-4 weeks will be a very reduced level of exercise intensity and type of exercise.  I am happy that walking, swimming, biking and some upper body exercises are all okay to do for now.

So, when a person is exercising, they really do need to listen to their body.  I’m glad that I found out when I did, so I can make things better over the next four months.    I do have time to recover.  However, I do feel a little anxious about this minor setback and can’t wait to back at the level I was before.

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Jaci Rocheleau and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

