LiveFit Challenge Week 6: Tim’s Update

This past week was a hard one for me. I knew that at some point and time I would feel like it was getting to be too much, but I did not expect my body to just not respond. As hard as I tried to push myself and get the most out of my last week with the trainers, it just wasn’t there.

Tim Richards is an OR surgical technician at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

Tim Richards is an OR surgical technician at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

I think that as I look back at the weeks leading up to this and the knowledge I have gained I can put a finger on the problem.

First off, my second job has picked up a little and things have been harder to juggle. Second, I now know just how much diet can affect your energy and performance during a workout. I have for the last 2 months cut out all sweets, fatty foods, alcohol and anything else that I felt would bog me down. I watch my portions and make sure to eat a little something every few hours so I do not over eat during main meals.

On Sunday, it was my daughters birthday and we went out to eat. I looked over the menu and thought to myself, “Well I have been good for this long. I think I will treat myself.”

And that is just what I did. I still tried to stay within reason, but apparently if your body is used to good healthy food and you put something say a little less healthy into it, it will have its effects.

Monday at my workout I just did not have the energy I have had in the past. My mind said GO but my body said NO. I got through it and did feel somewhat guilty about it, but I know there will be days like this.

I am not saying that you have to completely cut out all the foods you love to indulge in. Just take a smarter approach than I did.

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

 

This entry was posted in Tim Richards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

