LiveFit Challenge Week 7: Sara’s Update

Ok, so how far into this thing are we now? About 7 weeks? Well, I’ve got to say, exercise is awesome!

Dr. Sara Aicher is an urgent care physician at Aurora Urgent Care in Green Bay.

Dr. Sara Aicher is an urgent care physician at Aurora Urgent Care in Green Bay.

I truly think exercise is an amazing energy booster and antidepressant. I have never been diagnosed as depressed, and I do consider myself a decently happy person, but I feel ten times better now!

I have talked with patients that were stressed, depressed, or anxious on many occasions, about the benefits of exercise.  But I think I am finally understanding some of the little ways that it helps boost your mood.  Maybe I should just speak for myself: I am understanding little ways that it helps boost MY mood.

Let me count the ways:

  1. I no longer feel cranky when I have to park in the furthest spot in the parking lot because I realize that I am going to be burning more calories!
  2. I also don’t mind now when I am carrying my 2 year old and have to park in the furthest spot in the parking lot because I know I am going to be burning even more calories.
  3. Instead of getting frustrated, I actually am excited about having to go back to the other end of the store for the bananas that I forgot.
  4. I see it as bonus exercise time when I have to go upstairs for the 27th time to put away laundry!
  5. Feeling thrilled that there is more snow to shovel! Who needs a snow blower!?
  6. Loving, instead of dreading, the thought of vacuuming every last carpeted surface in our house because our dog sheds so much! It really does burn lots of calories.
  7. Chasing my kids around is even more fun when it is not so tiring. Sweating in my Batman suit while doing it must be burning more calories too!
  8. Sitting at stop lights is now just a little bonus time for exercise like isometrics of the abs or glutes, not so frustrating to get that yellow light as I approach every intersection.
  9. I don’t feel like I have to cover up all the mirrors in my bathroom anymore! I actually can see some muscles in there, and my pants fit better.
  10. I am so happy to be doing something for myself. Exercising gives me time to space  out and sort through things in my mind. It’s a great stress reliever!

So, I think exercise definitely gives you that release of endorphins, the more biochemical explanation for what makes you feel good when you work out.  But, when I have seen how many calories I burn from just household activities and running errands and regular stuff, it makes me want to do more of it!

On a day when I was just cleaning the house and getting some stuff ready for friends to come over for the Superbowl, I burned 3300 calories! I didn’t even do any specific workout that day! I was just moving around a lot, instead of sitting on the couch watching pregame shows!

Live Fit ArtworkAnd now that I am seeing improvements in my energy level and my body fitness from doing the extra exercise and burning more calories, I am finding it so much fun to find new ways to fit it in.

That’s why the extra walking in the parking lots, in the grocery store, at work, or up and down the stairs at home is so great!

It used to drive me crazy if I had to get up off the couch for something, or up out of my chair in my office for something down the hall, or if I forgot to bring something upstairs and had to make an extra trip.  All those things would annoy me and create more negative energy! All that has changed to positive energy now! I almost make extra trips back and forth across the store on purpose!

If you’re still circling for the closest parking space, you just don’t know what you’re missing out on. Get up and get moving! You will be amazed at how good you .start to feel about everything!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Sara Aicher, MD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

