LiveFit Challenge Week 6: Ed’s Update

On Monday, I learned a big lesson.

I am the type of person that when I get busy I don’t think about eating.  So my Monday started off by going for a 4 mile run.  I then had a light breakfast followed by completing several errands.

Ed Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

Ed Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

My afternoon one-on-one with Junius came very quickly.  During my session, I started to run out of steam.  Junius quizzed me on my eating habits for the day, and it came to light that I only ate once all day.

I definitely did not have enough fuel to keep me going all day.  The lesson learned is I need to fuel up to keep going.  A snack is better than nothing at all.  I will have to pay closer attention to my eating habits in the future.

One lifestyle change that I incorporated into my every day activities is taking the stairs instead of the elevators.  Check out my photo, taken in a stairwell at the hospital.  On that day by noon I had already gone up to the 4th floor four times using the stairs and up to the 5th floor twice in the regular course of my duties.  I also had gone up to the 2nd and 3rd floors several times.  The lesson here is that I don’t always have to be in a gym to get a workout.  I can use my environment to keep me active.

I still feel my body is changing for the good.  I have increased my running mileage to 4 miles and increased my speed to 10 minute miles.  It’s hard to believe that about eight years ago I was running at 7 minute miles. I don’t think that will ever happen again.  I will give it my best.

The one-on-one training sessions are great because Natasha and Junius are always teaching me new variations of old exercises to maximize the use of every muscle and every angle of the muscle.  They always do a great job.

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Ed Janz and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

