LiveFit Challenge Week 5: Tracey’s Update

Since the beginning of this journey, I’ve had a goal of being able to run a full 5K.  This has actually been a goal of mine for the past few years.

I see so many people in my neighborhood, family & friends that have turned into “runners” and love it.  I’ve always been secretly jealous of their love for running, but at the same time I was thinking how can a person love running?

Last week, Paula told me at the beginning of my training session – “we are running on the treadmill today”.  And I was excited!!  Yeah, more running!!

Tracey Schmidt is a registered nurse at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

Tracey Schmidt is a registered nurse at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

With some breaks for strength training, I ran a little more than 2 miles. Each running segment, I was feeling more comfortable and wasn’t totally winded.  I honestly felt really good after that workout and looked forward for my next opportunity to run!  Next training session came around: we did stairs and boy, did my quads BURN!  Then came the new Power Tower – wowza, now it was time for my upper back, lats & arms to burn!  As much as it was burning, it didn’t hurt and I knew those are the ones that count the most.  Keep on going!  In the end, it was another great workout.

I had great intentions to make it to spin class on Thursday morning. Too bad traffic didn’t allow me to make it there in time.  Bummer!  I was really looking forward to getting back on the bike, so here was my next opportunity to get on the treadmill.  I started with a nice warmup, ended up going for a little more than 30 minutes on the treadmill.  I have to be honest I wasn’t able to run the full 30 minutes.  I can’t quite keep up with Tim & Ed yet – but I’ll get there! I did take 2 little breaks of brisk walking for 2 minutes each, but I also increased my speed with each running segment.

All in all, I ran about 26 minutes, and that’s HUGE for me! I enjoyed it!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Tracey Schmidt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

