LiveFit Challenge Week 5: Tim’s Update

I have been shooting for a certain goal now for the last couple of weeks, so I decided it was time to go for it.  I got to the gym before work and did my usual 1/4 mile warm up then reset the treadmill and took off in pursuit of that elusive 30 minute mark for a 5K.

As I passed the 1 mile interval, I was feeling pretty good about how things were going and was confident I could make it. Hitting the halfway mark, I was still going strong and the confidence was building. Was I really going to do it this time?

Tim Richards is an OR surgical technician at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

Tim Richards is an OR surgical technician at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

Two miles in now, and my legs are just starting to feel the effects. I have to start concentrating on my stride as I do not want to lose form and make it harder on myself. I try to think of something to help the time pass faster, and I avoid looking at the timer on the treadmill at all costs.

Two and a half miles, and my mind is telling me to jump to the side rails and take a break. My legs are starting to feel heavy and I can tell my stride is slipping some. I tell myself that I have come too far to give up now and that I have to keep going.

Three miles now, and every part of my body is telling me to stop. My legs burn, shoulders and arms are even heavy, and I am about to turn into a big puddle of sweat. Suddenly the pace slows down and I think, what just happened? I accidentally hit the stop button in the past, as well as pulled the emergency stop cord. Did I just blow it when I was so close?

Not this time!   I looked at the distance and it read 3.1 miles. I just ran a 5K!  Then I looked at the time. 29 min, 32 sec. I had done it. I have never run that far in the amount of time in my life. It was an overwhelming feeling to say the least!

One down and two to go. Next up, that 1 mile swim!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Tim Richards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

