LiveFit Challenge Week 5: Tracey’s Update

This past weekend, our group met up for the first time since the kick-off.  It was great to see everyone again and share all of our stories from the past month.

Our first “group date” was swimming. I love the water. All my life I have been swimming in the lakes, ponds, pools, bathtubs, puddles. Any body of water I could get wet in, I would swim. I thought to myself.  Yep, this would be easy.

 Or so I thought.

You mean there is actually a technical way to swim and breath??

Tracey Swim Workout8_2-2-13So this has definitely been an eye opener for me. It certainly is a process learning to swim, stroke, breath and keep moving in the right direction. This is something so different to me and really requires concentration.

After a few laps I started to catch on a little bit, learning what is working for me and what isn’t. I have swallowed some chlorine.  I have had to stop and catch my breath. It’s very hard to retrain yourself to breath out through your nose and in through your mouth.  That’s the complete opposite of how a nurse thinks!!

I am determined to get this!  I can’t wait to get back into the pool again. I have to remind myself to think like Dori from Finding Nemo:  just keep swimming, just keep swimming.

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Tracey Schmidt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

