LiveFit Challenge Week 5: Sara’s Update

DSCN2812Swimming: if senior citizens can do it, why can’t I?

Junius had our team meet up for swimming at the YMCA this past weekend.  The email came the week prior, said we’d be there from 8-10 AM.

Seriously? Two hours of swimming? Yikes.

I actually was kind of excited to get into swimming, and pictured myself leisurely swimming laps after a few pointers from Junius.  I’ve seen all those people at the pool in the summer, swimming back and forth and back and forth, while I chase Sophia around the pool deck and accompany Jack down the slide 5,000 times in a row.  I’ve always thought it looked so relaxing and like it would be good exercise.

As I would pull my tankini down to cover my belly, and yank my little skirty bottom down to make sure no one saw my backside, I thought about one day taking up swimming and doing some laps while the kids played in the pool independently.  When will that day ever come? Ha! And which will come first…the kids playing independently or me being able to swim?

So, then I got the next email saying to bring a swim cap and goggles, flip flops, towel, etc.  Yay, that means I get to go shopping! Ummm…but a swim cap?? That doesn’t sound very attractive! And it turned out Dick’s was out of pink goggles.  Darn! And then the email said to make sure my bathing suit was “tight fitting”.  Does that mean I can’t wear the one with the skirt that covers up everything? Oh boy.

Swim Workout3_2-2-13Well, I don’t think any of us were loving the idea of prancing around in bathing suits, or swim caps! We left the swim caps on the bench.  I think I might actually see the value of using it after I spent an hour trying to untangle my hair from my goggles.

Here’s something you forgot to put on the list, Junius:  AN OXYGEN TANK! Wow… why the heck is it so hard to breathe!?

I kept telling myself…breathe out through your nose, turn your head and breathe in through your mouth… and what did I do?? I did breathe out through my nose, turned my head, breathed out, sucked some water in, put my face back in the water, and held my breath, pooped out from holding my breath, tried  to inhale again, and repeated that same process, getting more and more frustrated each time!!! How hard can it be to just breathe out in the water and breathe in when I turn my head!? So, that’s what I did for two hours.

Junius was great and kept trying to give us ways to improve our stroke and work with kickboards and stuff to be able to just focus on the breathing.  Somehow, I just couldn’t get it! I think I am going to go to my four year old’s swim lesson this week.  He’s working on “monkey cheeks” to practice blowing out in the water.  Junius didn’t try that trick on me.

So, I’ve worked up to swimming 1/4 lap now! Yeah, you read that right, 1/4 lap.  Do you know how far we have to swim in this triathlon? 8 laps.  So, that’s just 32 times what I can do right now.  No biggie.  I could only run 1/3 mile at the beginning of January and now I can do at least 2, so I bet I’ll get this swimming thing too, eventually!

Maybe I’ll just have to borrow my son Jack’s dinosaur floatie.

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Sara Aicher, MD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

