LiveFit Challenge Week 5: Amanda’s Update

Tracey Swim Workout8_2-2-13So merrily we roll along into another week.  The work outs are getting — well, I dare not say easy —  more tolerable.  The aching that seemed to live in all those, once dormant muscles seems to be more of a mild moan now.

I’m not to the point where I would call working out “fun” it’s still a workout, but I do feel great afterwards not just because of the endorphins , but the sense of accomplishment that helps build confidence is a great feeling.

It’s nice that I’m getting to know some of the people in the classes I’m taking. It’s great to walk in and not feel so out of place.  It’s also really great to run into other 6 pack members , I’ve taken the same class as Jaci and I’ve met up with Sara.  Who knew I would get to know people at the gym? I’ve bumped into people at a restaurant and the grocery store, but NEVER before have I bumped into someone at the gym.

I’m still feeling a little overwhelmed at the thought of running a triathlon in 5 months.   For me it’s kind of a roller coaster, when I’m not at the gym and I can look and see the progress I’ve made so far, it motivates me .

The thought of crossing that finish line feels almost tangible.  Then there are the moments when I am just about to the end of an hour of personal session and  my arms and legs feel like they have turned to noodles from exhaustion, and merely standing feels like a chore.

That’s when I start to think,  “What have  gotten myself into, if I can’t handle an hour workout how am I going to handle a triathlon”   But the fact that I’ve gone very public with doing this triathlon helps to keep me on track.

It’s one thing to say to yourself that you’re going to do a triathlon, but to have it announced to all of your co-workers, have it on a website and creating a blog about…..that’s definitely going to keep me on track!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Amanda Schuessler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

