LiveFit Challenge Week 5: Ed’s Update

A fish, I am not!

On Saturday, the 6-Pack Team met at the Y downtown for a workout in the pool.  This was the first time the group has gotten together since our January 5 kick-off.  It was great to see everyone and hear how they are progressing toward the big day.  Everyone could see and feel some differences in themselves as their bodies start to change and also as they start to make lifestyle changes.   We all know that we still have a long way to go.

Ed broke a big milestone this week -- 198 pounds and counting down!

Ed broke a big milestone this week — 198 pounds and counting down!

Now, as far as swimming goes I know I have a lot of work to do.  My misgivings about completing a triathlon are based on my inability to swim long distances.  I can swim some, but wasn’t sure I could do the 400 yards.

Now, I know I can’t swim that distance but I like challenges so I will put my best foot forward and get it done.  I found that I don’t have a lot of coordination when it comes to swimming properly.  I think I swallow too much water.  I really need to work on the techniques that Junius showed us.  Swimming is really exhausting because you use every muscle in your body.  It was still great fun and I enjoyed the workout.

This week I hit several mild stones in my training.

  1. The first and most exciting one was that on Wednesday morning I stepped on my scale and saw that I dropped below 200 lbs.  The scale read 198 lbs. To get to this point was my first goal.  I had to take a picture of my scale reading.  That sure boosted my drive to stay on track.  I still have a long way to go.
  2. The second mild stone was that I was able to run 4 miles non-stop.  The triathlon distance is 3.1 miles.  Next week I will start to increase my speed.

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Ed Janz and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

