Balance sleep, diet and exercise for best training results

Jordanphotoby Jordan Wettstein, guest blogger

It was another successful week of training at Aurora!  My left quad finally is back to normal now after various stem and ice treatments, stretching, and foam rolling.

We hit the treadmill hard on Monday, with major lifts after Andy and I were finished.  The rest of the week was very similar to the last couple, but we are building off of different exercises and increasing the pace of the workout.  There are less breaks and less time to recover, but this will help with the endurance part of my training.

What I have realized is everything needs to be balanced while you train.  You can’t overwork a muscle group, otherwise you will wear yourself down over time.  With my pro day being one month away, we will more than likely taper down the last week and half to let my body catch back up and recover from training.

Jordan is working with Athletic Republic trainers to prepare for Pro Day and kicking camps this spring.

Jordan is working with Athletic Republic trainers to prepare for Pro Day and kicking camps this spring.

I have also learned that I need to get enough sleep every night.  I have realized between 7-8 hours per night is optimal for me.  Anything less or more, my body doesn’t feel as alive during our workouts.

What you put into your body is also essential.  I try to stick with foods that will help my performance, not hinder it.  My diet consists of many fruits, vegetables, and whole grains.  I take in fruits before our workout, and finish the day with a hearty lunch and dinner.  I also make sure I get in enough water.  I have a 32 oz water bottle that I refill at least three times per day.

You have to take care of your body if you want it to take care of you!

Have a great week everyone and work towards a goal you can accomplish by the end of the week.  Get after it!

To start your customized training program, contact  Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Road to the NFL: Jordan Wettstein and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

