LiveFit Challenge Week 4: Tracey’s Update

Tracey Schmidt is a registered nurse at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

Tracey Schmidt is a registered nurse at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

Let’s talk about my love/hate relationship with kettlebells!

It’s 7:00 AM Monday morning and Paula says, “Have you ever used kettlebells before?”  Nope. I’ve heard about kettlebells but I was skeptical. Swing around a big, heavy weight? Um, not so sure about that.

Soon my thighs, shoulders, and glutes were burning, but I came to realized that kettlebell training is kind of fun. Not fun in the way that, say, going to the beach and sipping cocktails is fun, of course.

Kettlebells were fun in the sense that it can change things up a little bit and bring something new into my workouts.  Paula told me I would be sore. At first I didn’t believe her, because I wasn’t completely drained after the workout.  Muscles were definitely fatigued but not strained.  Then Tuesday morning rolled around. As I rolled out of bed, I thought to myself:  Ok Paula – you were right.

Once again my thighs and glutes were burning. But I liked that feeling – it means I’m changing, becoming stronger on the inside and outside. It’s so different from traditional training that it instantly engages your body, and your mind, in a whole different way.

Thanks to Snowstorm Denise, I wasn’t able to make it to group exercise this week.  Bummer, I was really looking forward to trying out Body Blast.  So, I was able to get in an extra workout at home instead, not because I had to, because I WANTED to.  It really is amazing how much better you feel after a good, sweaty workout!

After reading some of the others blogs, it’s awesome to see and hear everyone’s progress!  I cannot wait to see everyone again this weekend.  I look forward to sharing our experiences over the past few weeks!  On to swimming and running (ok, jogging) and more kettlebells!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Tracey Schmidt and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

