LiveFit Challenge Week 4: Sara’s Update

photoIs running really addicting?

Chocolate and candy were what I used to be addicted to.  I had chocolate in all forms in my office: chocolate pudding in the fridge, hot chocolate packets, chocolate milk, M&M’s, Kit Kats, 100 Grand bars, and sometimes if I wanted to have a healthier option, trail mix with chocolate covered coffee beans.  Yeah, everyone knew where to come to find chocolate in our pod.

So, what is going on with me?? All of a sudden, chocolate does not seem as appealing as it did.  I just got home from my twelve hour shift and instead of thinking about plopping down on the couch and eating some of the leftover cake from my daughter’s two gigantic Minnie birthday cakes, I am thinking about running!

Seriously? Did I just really say, and mean, that? Is there some kind of brainwashing going on with this crazy armband? I think it must be sending weird signals into my body! I have never, ever, ever thought about wanting to run! Especially when I just worked all day.

Dr. Sara Aicher is an urgent care physician at Aurora QuickCare in Green Bay.

Dr. Sara Aicher is a physician at Aurora Urgent Care in Green Bay.

I have always really admired people that like to run.  Well, I admired them, and thought they were kind of crazy at the same time.  I couldn’t figure out what got them so excited about it.

A bunch of the other ladies that live in my neighborhood run.  They talk about just running a “quick two miles” before picking their kids up from school.  Those kind of comments would just make my jaw drop.  JUST TWO MILES?! Just thinking about running two miles makes my side cramp up and calves spasm!

Well, let me tell you, I “just ran two miles” on Sunday! Straight through! I could not believe it.  I didn’t even plan on it.  I wanted to do a mile, but once I was at one mile, I felt like I could keep going! It was the weirdest feeling.  If you recall, two weeks ago, I was proud of myself for advancing to running three minutes in a row, instead of just one and a half!

I actually was on the treadmill downstairs, while my husband was upstairs (and the kids were napping at the time), and I texted him to tell him how I was still running beyond one mile.  I sent him a picture of the distance on the treadmill because I was so thrilled with my progress, with the caption “wow”! It was so exciting! And now I want to keep trying to do better, run even further, or even faster! I think running really is addicting!

We might finally get some more use out of our treadmill in the basement now.  I probably had only been on it ten times in the past two years.  Perhaps, I will even move on to running outside with one of the neighbors when the weather gets better.  Right now, there’s no way I can carry on any kind of conversation while running.  I can only gasp out a few words in between my heavy breaths.  I’ll work up to it, I’m sure.

Can’t wait to tell the other moms at school pick up that I’m in my workout gear because I just ran a “quick two miles”!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Sara Aicher, MD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

