LiveFit Challenge Week 3: Tim’s Update

Tim Richards is an OR surgical technician at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

Tim Richards is an OR surgical technician at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

I learned a very valuable lesson this past week! My training session with Paula was not going to start until 9 and, since I get off work at 7, I thought I could do some work on my own. I jumped on the stationary bike and rode at a good pace for a half hour then took a brisk walk on the treadmill. I felt pretty good and was ready for a good workout with Paula.

About halfway through, she had me doing some lunges on the BOSU ball when it happened. My right quad muscle tightened up and I felt some pain in my hip. I stopped what I was doing and walked it off and then tried to continue the exercise but it happened again.

I should have heeded the warning. It took a few days but I am fine now. When I look back now, I understand how this happened. I should have never worked as hard as I did before Paula got there. I am not saying that you should not push yourself, but you do have to understand your limitations. You have to learn to listen to your body and know when it says enough.

My buddy summed it up best when I was telling him about it by saying ” Well you’re not 21 anymore dumb ___ fill in the blank”  I could have thrown away a great opportunity with that one mistake.

So now I am back, and working hard but smarter. I have noticed a huge improvement in my stamina and strength. This past Monday, I was in the pool at the Y and started swimming laps. Normally, I would get about 150 yards in without having to take a break, but after the first 150 I thought I can do fifty more. This continued until I stopped at 700 yards. I was blown away. Having learned my lesson, I stopped and did my stretching and a couple of cool down laps. I am looking forward to seeing my teammates at the first group workout since the kickoff event almost month ago.

I can not tell you how good it feels to be getting into shape. My wife and I enjoy going to the Y together and are having fun looking online for new recipes to try and cooking them together.  She has been so supportive and tolerant of the time commitment I have had to give to this and I realize that I was not the only one making a commitment. Without her, I could not have taken up this adventure. Thank you Bobbie!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Tim Richards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

