LiveFit Challenge Week 4: Amanda’s Update

Telling yourself “no” is harder than I thought it would be.

Image

Amanda Schuessler is a patient services representative at BayCare Clinic in Green Bay.

As a mother, I find that I often tell my children no to foods and drinks that aren’t healthy for them.  My mother told me no to those same things when I was young.  Unfortunately, no one has been telling ME no, not even me until a few weeks ago.

I always thought that caffeine was my only really vice, as it turns out sugar is too.

Keeping a log of what I’ve been eating has really made me more aware of what goes in my mouth.  I’ve been pretty good about avoiding “junk” food because having to write it down makes me feel guilty.  Not because I’m trying to lose weight, but the constant thought of having to put on spandex bicycle pants is definitely a good deterrent, but because I feel like I’m cheating myself.  I no longer look at “junk” food as a treat, but as another 30 min on the treadmill!

My mentor, Karen, and I took a class together last Saturday morning.  It was the “Instructors Choice” class, which is exactly what it says, you are at the mercy of the instructor. They class flew by and we had a good time and it was a great way to start out my day.

This week I’m hoping to try a yoga class, I’ve never done yoga before and I hear that there are lots of benefits to it.  I’m also looking for a few good recipes that would help me overcome the temptation of sweets. If you have any, I would love it if you could share!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Amanda Schuessler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

