LiveFit Challenge Week 3: Tracey’s Update

Tracey Schmidt is a registered nurse at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

Tracey Schmidt is a registered nurse at Aurora BayCare Medical Center.

So, I have this little device on my arm, my tracking device if you will: my BodyMedia!

I’m totally intrigued by this thing.  The information it gives me is amazing!  I am still struggling to understand how it can monitor my calories burned, steps taken – but most of all my sleep.  It seriously can tell when I’m just laying down and when I’m sleeping.  And it also tells me how many times I’m waking through the night.

It also monitors how much physical activity I’ve done in a day. Even if I have those days that I don’t feel like working out, I know that when I sync all my information on Monday, I’m not going to see the those same results as other days.  So, my little “evil eye” keeps me going.  And to be completely honest, I feel so much better after I’m done working out.  So much, that even on my personal training days, you still will find me adding in another workout session!!

Another plus: the scale finally moved down a few pounds!  I know we are not supposed to focus on the weight, which I truly don’t care about the number, but it’s still a good, positive feeling.  Man, I sure did a lot of work over the past two weeks to lose those 3 pounds!

Logging my food has also helped. Until you do this, you really don’t realize how much or how little food you take in each day.  I still have the occasional sweets but these are few and far between, honestly I don’t really miss it!  Plus, I know I will have to work that much harder to burn off those extra unneeded calories  I find myself making much healthier food decisions for meals, snacks and even snacks for the kid’s lunches – and they like it too!  It’s a win – win!!

I can tell already – that after only two weeks, I’m changing.

  1. I can feel it. Those muscles that have been hiding for the past 10 years are finally coming out of hibernation!
  2. My mindset is changing, I actually enjoy working out and the feeling I have afterwards.  I look forward to working out, especially my training sessions.  Our trainers have been outstanding and so motivating to keep on pushing.
  3. The impact of this experience is already having effect on others around me. Friends and family are so interested in what I’m learning and come to ME for advice and tips!  Even my husband and boys are excited for all that is changing and want to start doing more healthy things for themselves too.

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Tracey Schmidt, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

