LiveFit Challenge Week 3: Ed’s Update

I think I am starting to really get back into working out.

Ed Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

Ed Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

I can’t wait to try new types of workouts…spin class, for one. I only lost several pounds, but people are telling me I look different.  I hope they meant that in a good way.  I also notice that my clothes are fitting loser.  My body shape is changing.  I also noticed that I feel like I am holding my body straighter instead of “schlumpy.”  It feels good.

Here are some of my highlights of the week.

Gains: I was able to run 3 miles, but I had to walk a tenth of a mile in-between each mile and then cool down.  I did this several times this week.  Soon I will be able to run the 3 miles without walking in between each mile.  My ability to breathe deep while running is coming back.

Pains:  No pain in these running workouts…anymore.

Gains:  I survived another week of working with a personal trainer.  I had some great workouts trying to build core muscles. Mine have all gone soft or disappeared.

Pains:  I needed Ibuprofen only after the first session this week.  My whole body hurt.  I didn’t know you could hurt like that.  The next morning I felt fine — go figure!

Gains: Learning some Yoga stances to help strengthen core muscles.

Pains:  I have a lot of trouble balancing on one foot.  I am not very graceful.  I have no core strength. I must be a sight to behold flailing about.

Gains: I have lost several pounds so far.

Pains:  People tell me that losing several pounds on me is like a deck chair blowing off the Queen Mary.  In other words, not very noticeable.

We will see.  I have many more to lose!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Ed Janz and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

