Five days of furious fitness launch athlete’s road to NFL

by Jordan Wettstein, guest blogger

Well, the first week is over — and I’m ready to get into week two!

Monday was a testing day.  We needed to get a baseline for where I am right now, compared to where I want to finish when the program is done.  I felt pretty good after testing was done, but Tuesday was a work day.

DSCN2766My body wasn’t use to the incline and speed of the treadmills that Aurora has to offer.  They are unlike anything you will find anywhere else!  They were awesome!  It was like I was actually running, and this allowed me to really push my body.

Wednesday didn’t get any easier, as we pushed the legs a little more today and hit the upper body as well.  Thursday allowed me to get my body back together, as we used that day for recovery and the chance to kick.  We began our work with a band that was attached to my calf and quad that allowed for resistance, but I was still able to use my normal kicking motion without altering my form.  We finished the workout with a great stretch and foam rolling session.

On Thursday, Corey was able to help with some ice and stem treatment, which helps break some of the muscle tissue up and release some of the lactic acid in my muscles.

Jordan is working with Athletic Republic trainers to prepare for Pro Day and kicking camps this spring.

Jordan is working with Athletic Republic trainers to prepare for NFL Pro Day and kicking camps this spring.

Friday was a shock to the body, as we stacked exercises and workouts on top of each other in more of a fast paced, lower weight, higher-repetition workout.

I was able to finish the week with a great yoga session that relaxed my body and got my mind thinking about week two.

What’s kept my body healthy this week? Getting a good night of sleep, at least 7.5 hours of sleep per night, eating the right foods when I get done working out, and stretching and foam rolling after each session.  I also do a little work on my own before bed in terms of extra stretching.

I am excited to see what is in store for the week ahead.  Stay tuned to what is to come!

To start your customized training program, contact  Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Road to the NFL: Jordan Wettstein and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

