LiveFit Challenge Week 3: Sara’s Update

Which comes first…the dishes or the treadmill?

Dr. Sara Aicher is an urgent care physician at Aurora QuickCare in Green Bay.

Dr. Sara Aicher is an urgent care physician at Aurora QuickCare in Green Bay.

It’s 12:55 on a Monday afternoon… only 5 more minutes until freedom. Naptime has arrived! I made it through the morning!

Now, what am I going to do with myself in my nice, quiet house? Should I read through all those medical journals piled up in the office? Get some laundry done? Clean a closet out? Unpack my suitcase that’s been sitting around for five days? Dishes? How about run on the treadmill?

Ugh.  This is hard!

So, I ended up running on the treadmill.

Yep, I did it! And you know what? I actually felt good when I finished.  And I felt like I could conquer all those other tasks when I was done running.  Instead of chasing around doing all the housework and then collapsing on the couch to flip through the channels and waste an hour watching some daytime talk show, I listened to some music, ran on the treadmill and cleared my head, and then got some tasks done around the house.  It felt great!

Sometimes I wish I could just find a better way to fit in exercise when I am with the kids.  Or a way to get the cleaning done with the kids around.  It is so hard to fit it all in just while they are napping.  And what the heck will I do when the four year old stops napping!? Yikes!

Today I tried to finally get the suitcase unpacked.  I ended up dressed in a Batman costume, running back and forth trying to hang clothes up and run toiletries into the bathroom while singing the Batman theme song, and periodically taking time out to fly the “Batplane” that was made of a few stools turned over and a body pillow, all covered with a big blanket.  Yeah, and that’s a typical day.  Jack was Superman and Sophia was Aquaman.  I wonder how many calories that burned.

After naps today, I am signed up for more Batman role play with Jack.  Once I get tired of that, we might just have to take a trip to the “play place” (the kids name for the daycare at the gym) for 45 minutes or so, so that I can workout some more.  It all depends on how well the kids are behaving.  If they drive me nuts, I’m more likely to take them there.  If they’re being good, I just might want to spend some more time with them.  We’ll see.  I’m starting to realize that it’s ok to let them play with someone else for awhile.  I can’t keep up the Batman routine all day.

Ok, real quick, speaking of calories burned.  I get so, so excited to see how many calories I’ve burned in a day! It is becoming a little game almost.

This Bodymedia device is the coolest thing! It tells you how much physical activity you’ve done in a day, how many calories you’ve burned, how much you’ve slept, and keeps track of your food logging, as well.  It is such an ingenious device.  How in the world does it know when I am truly sleeping? It tells the difference between laying down and sleeping! The food logging and seeing how many calories are really in everything that I’m eating is really helpful! It makes me avoid junk food! Seriously!

I was out at Plae Bistro last night and they came around with the dessert tray, and I had no trouble saying no! And I have not replenished the Sour Patch Kids in my office.  And I even gave away my last two Kit Kats to a sweet little girl, who said they were her favorite food.  Her mom said it was OK, and we talked about eating healthy foods, too.

I’m shocked to say this, but somehow in just two short weeks, I find myself making better food choices, making time for exercise, liking exercise more than I used to, and even being able to run more than I ever used to.  It’s amazing.  The trainers are so motivating, the Bodymedia device is amazing, and my mindset is changing a little.

Now, I just need to work on doing squats in my Batman costume!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Sara Aicher, MD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

