LiveFit Week 2: Sara’s Update

Dr. Sara Aicher is an urgent care physician at Aurora QuickCare in Green Bay.

Dr. Sara Aicher is a physician at Aurora Urgent Care in Green Bay.

How could working out be fun??

I never have believed those people that say that working out is fun.  To me, working out has always been a task.  It’s always been something on my “To Do” list that wasn’t getting checked off as often as “take a shower” (yes, I put it on the to do list some days, just so I can feel good about getting it done) or “go to Target.”

There are just too many other things on my list to try to fit in a grueling, “not fun” workout.

I don’t consider myself much of a morning person.  I never wake up early enough to work out before the kids get up.  For the past four years, their sounds on the baby monitors have been my alarm clock.  And I’m usually too tired by the time the kids are in bed to do anything either.  If my son would just stay in his darn room when I put him to bed, maybe I wouldn’t feel so useless in the evenings.  We’ve tried being nice, being firm, Supernanny methods, bribes, reward charts, reversing the locks, etc.  He’s starting to do better now.

They are sweet, most of the time.  I feel bad about dropping them off in the daycare at the gym.  The crying and pulling on my leg while I walk away to watch the latest episode of “The Bachelor” and walk on the treadmill just doesn’t feel good to me.

I always think that if I would just take the kids and the dog for a walk, I will get a little workout in and I won’t feel bad about leaving them.  Yeah, that’s until the dog starts pulling one way, my four year old is whining because he wants to hold the dogs leash and get his hand ripped off instead, and the one year old is screaming “OUT!” and holding her arms up to me! Maybe it is a workout, and I burn some extra calories when my anxiety level goes up as my neighbors drive by waving and laughing at my struggle.

It is just really freakin’ hard to fit in a workout when you have little kids!

Live Fit ArtworkSince training officially started on January 5, I’ve had two personal training sessions with Natasha.  I set them up for times when the kids were either napping or I was supposed to be at work.  It made me feel less guilty for having that hour for myself.  After the first two sessions, we were skiing for a week in Utah.  We had a babysitter out there all day for five days so we could ski until the lifts shut down — another thing I felt kind of guilty about, but it felt good! I was able to have meals without kids and have fun being active and skiing, even in subzero weather! And the kids had fun with the sitter! And they were fine when we would get back each day.  They said they’d missed me, but they were okay.  See, most people that know me, know that I take my kids everywhere! I feel awful about doing things for myself and not tending to all their needs myself.

So, what I’ve discovered in the last week and a half is that working out and taking time to do something for myself actually might make me a better mom, and it might even be kind of fun.  I feel a little less cranky, a little more energetic, and more able to focus on playing with them when I am home.  I think I am finally recharging my battery that has been running at about 10% for the last few years.

Sara_1And I am saying that working out was fun, even though I think Natasha tried to kill me! It really was kind of fun to run up and down the stairs and feel like I was going into SVT and then do lunges to the point that my quads felt like they were going to snap off.  It was a different kind of fun than I’m used to.  It was fun to think I did it.

And now, I would like to have some fun and maybe drink a margarita, but the dang calorie counting doesn’t really let you do that without some regret. It is quite fun to actually see the calories burned exceed the calories consumed!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Sara Aicher, MD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

