LiveFit Challenge Week 1: Ed’s Update

Edwin Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

Edwin Janz is a security officer at Aurora BayCare Medical Center in Green Bay.

No weight gain!!!

The Christmas season came and went and I managed to not gain any weight.  I didn’t lose any, either.

This is a hard time of the year to follow any type of weight loss plan.  I feel successful for not gaining any weight.  Portion control was my key: sampling everything, but only in small portions.

It was a busy season, but I still managed to work out at times, not as much as I would have liked to but still maintained some type of rhythm. When I did work out,  it felt really good afterwards, like I really needed it.

To mix up some of my exercise routines, we got snow shoes and went snowshoeing.  It was a neat experience being outside enjoying nature.  If you haven’t ever tried it, you really are missing out.  It is different than cross country skiing.  I think it is easier, but still a great way to get active outdoors.

And then Saturday January 5 arrived…. Live Fit 6-Pack Kick-Off Day!

The night before, I was filled with a lot of trepidation as I packed my duffel bag.  I was tense. At one point, I told myself that I was being too serious and that I should loosen up and enjoy this experience.  I want to just give it my best and have fun doing it.

The big day was finally here.  That morning, I felt relaxed and ready for anything the LiveFit staff was going to put me through.  The staff was well prepared and presented an excellent program.

I heard some very encouraging stories from average people just like me.  These wonderful stories help me realize that, if I put my mind to it, I to can complete this triathlon.  I met some great people and hopefully made some new friends.

I couldn’t help but notice that I was the most senior of the group, but that’s OK —  we will see if the rest of the group can keep up!  I did survive the morning spin class workout… barely.  The afternoon workout was tough and I needed ibuprofen afterwards.  I didn’t think I was going to finish the workout. Ouch!

I fear the one-on-one sessions later this week.  I am excited in strange kind of way to get started and test myself and see what I can do.  I am now even more committed to being a success story come June 2.  Cheer me on!

Six Aurora BayCare Medical Center employees have embarked on a wellness challenge that will change their lives forever! Over the next six months, these people will be coached, trained and transformed into triathlon-level athletes through the Aurora BayCare Sports Medicine Live Fit program.  

To start your customized training program, contact us at 920-288-5400.

This entry was posted in Ed Janz and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

